The APRA-AGSC Screen Awards represent the successful marriage of two defining elements of contemporary Australian culture: music and film.

Since 2002, the annual Screen Music Awards have been proudly presented by the Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA) and the Australian Guild of Screen Composers (AGSC), and held in both Sydney and Melbourne. The Awards have honoured the outstanding achievements of the unseen champions of the Australian and international film industries: composers such as David Hirschfelder, Peter Best, Lisa Gerrard, Bruce Rowland and Bruce Smeaton.

"The Awards celebrate the craft of writing music for the screen - a language of emotions that enhance storytelling" - Art Phillips.

Over time, the Screen Music Awards have evolved into a premier event on the film and music industry calendars. Held in sophisticated inner city concert halls and venues, the Screen Music Awards have always provided an opportunity for screen composers to gather, network, reminisce and kick up their heels, in style. Since 2002, the Awards ceremony has featured a live orchestra to perform the nominated and winning works; and the subsequent black tie dinner provides an elegant back drop for the annual get-together.

Previous Years