2011 - Best Original Song Composed for the Screen

Back to all Nominations

Title: Dream On from The Missing Key
Composer: Miles Nicholas

Miles Nicholas was born into a family of non-musicians in the 1970's. They were, however, all music lovers and Miles was bombarded daily by each family member blaring vastly different tunes from separate stereos. Catching the musical bug badly, Miles taught himself the drums and resigned from school early to take a degree in music specializing in Jazz, Popular and Commercial Music. Post-degree he formed a busking band that travelled the world bastardizing music genres as it went. Bean, an unlikely trio of trombone, guitar and drums, made a success of their six years together releasing critically acclaimed albums of sparkling, indie pop and touring non-stop throughout Australia, Canada and Europe.

Miles began composing music for short films in 2007, working with successful Sydney based directors such as Rene Hernandez and Sebastian Danta. A close, artistic collaboration over many years with genius animator, Jonathan Nix, culminated in 2011's glorious, half-hour, animated epic, The Missing Key: a tour de force of animation, music and sound. Utilizing nearly all the skills at his disposal, Miles' score veers from luscious orchestral pieces to lustrous, chamber-pop torch songs all the way down to uncanny imitations of 1920's jazz, bluegrass and pop 78 rpm records.

2011 also sees the release of Miles' debut solo album. Under the artist name, Last Of The Analogue Kids, the album is called Wait For Night: a winter-themed collection of powerfully evocative, electronic pop. It marries the somber weight of Beck's 'Seachange' to the stark, mechanical beats of artists like Depeche Mode and Kraftwerk.

Title: Negotiate from Yes, We Canberra
Composers: Andrew Hansen / Chris Taylor
Publishers: ABC Music Publishing administered by Mushroom Music Pty Ltd

Andrew Hansen is best known as a member of comedy group The Chaser. With them, Andrew wrote and starred in the TV shows YES WE CANBERRA! (ABC1, 2010), THE CHASER'S WAR ON EVERYTHING (ABC, 2006-9), THE CHASER DECIDES (ABC, 2004, 2007), and CNNNN (ABC, 2002-3), also composing and performing the many songs that featured throughout those programs.

On stage, The Chaser has mounted two national tours. In print, they have published eleven Chaser Annuals. Andrew won the AFI Award for Best Performance in Television Comedy (2006), and his WAR ON EVERYTHING music won the APRA-AGSC Screen Music Award for Best Television Theme.

In radio last year, Andrew's musical comedy program THE BLOW PARADE (triple j) was the #1 podcast on iTunes Australia, and the album of the series won the ARIA Award for Best Comedy Release. Andrew composed and starred in the musical DEAD CAESAR (Sydney Theatre Company, 2007).

On the big screen, Andrew played 'Dex' in the 3D movie SANCTUM (2011), produced by James Cameron.

Chris Taylor is a writer and performer for The Chaser team, responsible for television programs such as The Hamster Wheel, The Chaser's War on Everything, Yes We Canberra! and CNNNN on ABC-TV. He worked as a journalist for 5 years before joining The Chaser newspaper as a senior writer. For two years, Chris co-hosted the popular drive time radio show Today Today on Triple J, and in 2007 he wrote the hit musical comedy Dead Caesar for the Sydney Theatre Company. In 2008 he co-hosted The Race Race radio show covering the US election; and last year he returned to Triple J with Andrew Hansen to write and perform The Blow Parade comedy series, which quickly became the number one podcast in the country. He was also the script editor on the second seasons of Review with Myles Barlow and Hungry Beast. This is his second APRA Screen Music Award nomination.

Title: Sweet Dreams: Sky Boat from Giggle & Hoot
Composers: Cain Horton / Paul Kingston
Publishers: ABC Music Publishing administered by Mushroom Music Pty Ltd

Paul Kingston and Cain Horton are a tag team of composers based between Sydney and Melbourne. They've been friends for years and been musical amigos for almost as long. Individually their resumes are long but as a due their list of achievements is a short but distinguished one. Most recently they've composed a feature track for ABCKids which has generated an Australian Screen Music Award nomination for Best Original Song Composed for Screen, and a World PromaxBDA Gold Award for a Music Video.

Their musical style is eclectic and versatile and they aim to write unpretentious, thoughtful songs that challenge established doctrine and assume the best of the intended audience.

Title: Won't Look Back from Mad Bastards
Composers: Brendan Fletcher / Alex Lloyd* / Alan Pigram / Stephen Pigram
Publisher: Rondor Music Australia Pty Ltd*

THE MAD BASTARDS TRIO, Featuring Stephen Pigram, Alan Pigram and Alex Lloyd.

Stephen and Alan Pigram are legends of the Australian music scene. Hailing from remote Broome – a tiny town in the far northwest of Australia - their calypso sound is widely regarded as "the sound of the Kimberley". They were the first indigenous artists to be inducted into the West Australian Music Hall of Fame in 2006.

Alex Lloyd is one of Australia's most popular rock artists, having sold more than half a million records and being a triple-ARIA Award winner.

The "Mad Bastards Trio" is a stunning collaboration between two of Australia's finest musical talents.

Back to all Nominations