2009 Winners

The 2009 winners of the APRA Music Awards were announced on Tuesday June 23rd at the Peninsula in Melbourne. This special event was celebrated in a room full of songwriters and their publishers who have achieved the highest performances of their work and excellence in their craft over the preceding year. The Awards were hosted by Jonathan Biggins and featured outstanding live performances by The Potbelleez, Faker, Dan Sultan, Abbe May and The Rockin' Pneumonia, Lior and Bliss n Eso.

Song of the Year

Title: White Noise
Artist: The Living End
Writer: Chris Cheney
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Pty Ltd
  Video (.mov) »

APRA Songwriters of the Year

Kim Moyes & Julian Hamilton – The Presets
Publisher: EMI Music Publishing Australia Pty Ltd

APRA Breakthrough Songwriter Award

Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu
Publisher: SFM Publishing

Ted Albert Award For Outstanding Services to Australian Music

Denis Handlin AM

Most Played Australian Work

Title: This Heart Attack
Artist: Faker
Writer: Nathan Hudson
Publisher: Mushroom Music Pty Ltd
  Video (.mov) »

Urban Work of the Year

Title: Running Back
Artist: Jessica Mauboy featuring Flo Rida
Writers: Jessica Mauboy / Audius Mtawarira* / Sean Mullins^
Publishers: Sony/ATV Music Publishing Australia Pty Ltd*
Blind Faith Entertainment Pty Ltd administered by Sony/ATV Music Publishing Australia Pty Ltd^
  Video (.mov) »

Dance Work of the Year

The Potbelleez
Title: Don’t Hold Back
Artist: The Potbelleez
Writers: David Greene*/ Ilan Kidron* / Jonathan Murphy*/ Sam Littlemore^
Publishers: MCDJ Music/Universal Music Publishing Pty Ltd*
Universal Music Publishing Pty Ltd^
  Video (.mov) »

Blues & Roots Work of the Year

Title: Sunshine
Artist: Old Man River
Writers: Ohad Rein* / Edo Kahn / Nadav Kahn
Publisher:  Albert Music*
  Video (.mov) »

Country Work of the Year

Title: Rattlin' Bones
Artist: Kasey Chambers / Shane Nicholson
Writers: Kasey Chambers* / Shane Nicholson^
Publishers:  Mushroom Music Pty Ltd*
Universal Music Publishing MGB Australia Pty Ltd^
  Video (.mov) »

Jazz Work of the Year

Title: Something Will Come To Light
Artist: Joe Chindamo
Writer: Joe Chindamo
Publishers: ORiGiN Music Publishing Pty Ltd administered by Albert Music
  Video (.mov) »

Most Played Australian Work Overseas

Title: Highway to Hell
Artist: AC/DC
Writers: Bon Scott / Angus Young / Malcolm Young
Publisher: Albert Music

Most Played Foreign Work

Title: All Your Reasons
Artist: Matchbox 20
Writers: Kyle Cook (ASCAP)* / Rob Thomas (ASCAP)*/ Paul Doucette (BMI) / Brian Yale (BMI)
Publisher: EMI Music Publishing Australia Pty Ltd*
  Video (.mov) »