2010 APRA Music Awards: Nominees Announced

Tuesday, 25 May 2010

APRA is proud to announce details of the nominees for the 2010 APRA Music Awards, which will be held at the Sydney Convention Centre on Monday 21st June. These nominees across 9 categories, including the peer voted APRA SONG OF THE YEAR and recently announced ROCK WORK OF THE YEAR, represent the songwriters behind the most successful works of the past year.

Over 70 songwriters covering rock, pop, urban, blues and roots, country and dance have been named as nominees showcasing Australia’s diverse and eclectic writing talents. They include LISA MITCHELL, DANIEL MERRIWEATHER, JESSICA MAUBOY, ASH GRUNWALD and KIM MOYES and JULIAN HAMILTON (THE PRESETS).


The coveted APRA SONG OF THE YEAR, is Australia’s only peer-voted Award and features compositions by songwriters who run the musical gamut. Sydney songstress, SARAH BLASKO is nominated for “All I Want”, the first single from her third album, As Day Follows Night. Newcomers ABBY MANDAGI and LORENZO SILLITTO of Melbourne band TEMPER TRAP were shortlisted for their summer hit, “Sweet Disposition”. Awards favourite, TROY CASSAR-DALEY, is nominated for “Big Big Love”, the impossibly catchy first single from his 2009 album I Love This Place. KATE MILLER-HEIDKE and KEIR NUTTALL return to the SONG OF THE YEAR award with “The Last Day on Earth” and rounding up the category is the magical LUKE STEELE, JONATHAN SLOAN AND NICK LITTLEMORE with “We Are The People”, the second single form their hit album Walking On A Dream.


For the MOST PLAYED AUSTRALIAN WORK Award, all of the nominees have been nominated in previous years with four also nominated in the ROCK WORK OF THE YEAR category for 2010. Flying the R&B flag is pop sensation, JESSICA MAUBOY, with her third single, “Been Waiting”. Last year’s SONG OF THE YEAR winner CHRIS CHENEY of THE LIVING END is recognised for “Raise the Alarm”, the high energy third single from their fifth studio album, White Noise. The boys from ESKIMO JOE receive a nod for their hugely successful “Foreign Land” alongside JON HUME and DANIEL HUME for EVERMORE’S “Hey Boys and Girls (Truth of the World Pt 2)”.  Capping off the shortlist of the artists who have dominated the airwaves over the last year is CHRIS CESTER of JET for “She’s a Genius”.


JESSICA MAUBOY, last year’s winner in the URBAN WORK OF THE YEAR category, returns with her award winning song “Running Back” co-written with AUDIUS MTAWARIRA and SEAN MULLINS, while HARLEY WEBSTER aka PHRASE receives a nomination with “Spaceship” co-written by ROBERT CONLEY and SPENCER DAVIES. PEZ also receives his first APRA nomination for the infectious “The Festival Song” written with MATTHEW COLWELL, HAILEY CRAMER and STEPHEN MOWAT. The BLISS N ESO boys receive a nomination in this category for the 2nd year in a row with “On Tour” and rounding up the nominees are hip hop veterans, HILLTOP HOODS,  who are recognised for their hit, “Still Standing”.


Leading the DANCE WORK OF THE YEAR category with two nominations are KIM MOYES and JULIAN HAMILTON from THE PRESETS who continue, for the second year running, to receive accolades and nominations for their critically acclaimed album Apocalypso with “If I Know” and “Talk Like That” both nominated. EMPIRE OF THE SUN receive their second nomination for “Walking on a Dream” (alongside co-writer JONATHAN SLOAN) and newcomer ZOE BADWI receives her maiden nomination for her infectious hit, “Release Me”. Rounding up the nominations is SNEAKY SOUND SYSTEM who have been recognised for the third single from their second album, “16”.


In the BLUES AND ROOTS WORK OF THE YEAR category is ASH GRUNWALD with “Breakout”, co-written with PIP NORMAN, alongside self released songwriter JAMES GREHAN for “Hold On”. Melbourne based group, BONJAH receive two nominations for their dreamy “Bring Back the Fire” and the sundrenched “Fly”. LANCE FERGUSON and DANIEL FARRUGIA of THE BAMBOOS alongside co-writer BENEDICT CHIJIOKE earn a nomination for “Can’t Help Myself”.


The COUNTRY WORK OF THE YEAR features a number of new and established songwriters including BROOK MCCLYMONT (with co-writer TREY BRUCE) for “Kick It Up”, STEVEN FORDE for, “I Ain’t That Guy” and BRAD COLE for “Come Home”. TROY CASSAR-DALEY is recognised for his hit “Big Big Love”, which is also nominated for SONG OF THE YEAR.  


This year sees the introduction of an exciting new category, ROCK WORK OF THE YEAR. APRA Awards favourite JET (CHRIS CESTER) is nominated for “She’s a Genius” whilst the winner of last year’s SONG OF THE YEAR, CHRIS CHENEY of THE LIVING END, is nominated twice for “White Noise” and “Raise the Alarm”. ESKIMO JOE’S powerful single “Foreign Land” receives a nomination while, JON HUME and DANIEL HUME of EVERMORE are acknowledged for “Hey Boys and Girls (Truth of the World Pt2)”, the first single from their concept album, Truth of the World.    


The INTERNATIONAL WORK OF THE YEAR Award recognises 11 songwriters across 5 artists who are all nominated for an APRA Award for the first time. THE FRAY, hailing from Colorado, are nominated for their smash-hit, gentle rock ballad, “You Found Me”. Adopted Australian darling and touring behemoth PINK, has been nominated for her self-reflective, no-nonsense track “Sober” alongside co-writers FLOYD HILLS, KARA DIOGUARDI and MARCELLA ARAICA. Country music’s latest sensation TAYLOR SWIFT receives a nod for her chart topping pop ballad “Love Story” from her second album Fearless. Rounding out the category this year is SHINEDOWN with their rock track, “Second Chance”, and Oklahoma boys THE ALL AMERICAN REJECTS, with their lively pop rock hit, “Gives You Hell”.


In a change to this year’s proceedings, the APRA Board of Writer and Publisher Directors have named five songwriters and groups of songwriters as nominees for BREAKTHROUGH SONGWRITER OF THE YEAR including JESSICA MAUBOY, LISA MITCHELL, DANIEL MERRIWEATHER, EMPIRE OF THE SUN (LUKE STEELE, NICK LITTLEMORE AND JONATHAN SLOAN) and TEMPER TRAP (JONATHON AHERNE/TOBIAS DUNDAS/ABBY MANDAGI/LORENZO SILLITTO).


The APRA Board of Writer and Publisher Directors will decide the recipient of the celebrated TED ALBERT AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING SERVICES TO AUSTRALIAN MUSIC. Previous recipients of this award have included Denis Handlin, Roger Davies, Michael Chugg, Michael McMartin, Don Burrows, and Angus and Malcolm Young.   


The APRA Board of Writer and Publisher Directors also decide the recipient of this prestigious category based on the body of work of a songwriter or group of songwriters in the previous calendar year.  Daniel Johns, Julian Hamilton, Kim Moyes, Paul Kelly, Bernard Fanning and Neil Finn have been previous recipients.

In addition to the above Awards,  the MOST PERFORMED AUSTRALIAN WORK OVERSEAS, will be announced at the 2010 APRA Music Awards on Monday June 21st 2010 at the Sydney Convention Centre.

The 2010 APRA Music Awards will be hosted by Jonathan Biggins and Julia Zemiro and will feature live performances. The event will also be filmed by subscription television partner MAX for a special that will be broadcast exclusively on MAX, on Sunday 4 July at 8.30pm. MAX is available on FOXTEL and AUSTAR.

APRA congratulates all of the deserving nominees for this year and wishes them well for the awards!